16th Street BRT

Write Ed Reiskin, the Mayor and Board of Supervisors to let them know you oppose this BRT plan to wreck 16th Street by stopping traffic and making it more difficult to park. Let them know how things are progressing or not.

email recipients:

To be delivered by email to the following:

Ed Reiskin, MTA Director of Transportation ed.reiskin@sfmta.com
MTA Board mtaboard@sfmta.com 
Mayor Ed Lee – MayorEdwinLee@sfgov.org
Board of Supervisors – Board.of.Supervisors@sfgov.org
Hillary Ronen , District Supervisor – Hillary.Ronene@sfgov.org
Aaron Peskin, District Supervisor – Aaron.Peskin@sfgov.org
Malia Cohen, District Supervisor – Malia.Cohen@sfgov.org
Ahsha Safai, District Supervisor – Ahsha.Safai@sfgov.org
Jane Kim, District Supervisor – Jane.Kim@sfgov.org
Katy Tang, District Supervisor – Katy.Tang@sfgov.org
London Breed, District Supervisor – London.Breed@sfgov.org
Norman Yee, District Supervisor – Norman.Yee.Bos@sfgov.org
Sandra Fewer, District Supervisor – Sandra.Fewer@sfgov.org
Mark Farrell, District Supervisor – Mark.Farrell@sfgov.org
Jeff Sheehy, District Supervisor – Jeff.Sheehy@sfgov.org

Sample letter below:

12/18/17

Director Ed Reiskin, Mayor Ed Lee and Board of Supervisors:

RE: Still no end to the traffic as promised by the SFMTA when they rolled out their plans for the Warriors Stadium and Pier 70 traffic control.

This is a dangerous plan that needs serious consideration before moving forward for a multitude of reasons.

16th Street is one of the major arterial streets that cross from East to West. It is the only street that crosses both 101 and 280.

The 22 Fillmore is one of the most popular and relied upon routes across town. Spending millions of dollars to change something that works really well for most people is insane.

Clearing all traffic on 16th Street to allow emergency vehicles only was given as the emergency plan to ally fears that Warriors Stadium traffic would limit access to the new Mission Bay medical facilities. Adding more restrictions to an already over-burdened street that could be cleared during major emergency situations is pure lunacy.

Electric buses will be stopped in their tracks and the public will be trapped. Emergencies happen fast. Clearing a few cars off the street is one thing, but clearing a lot of buses stuck on tracks is another.

During the Loma Prieta earthquake the only thing that worked was the diesel buses that now run on clean fuel. Electric vehicles are useless without power.

Cars are not MUNI’s biggest problem. The invasive private tech and other shuttle services cause most of the MUNI delays. They are slow and constantly getting in the way of MUNI buses. Cars are fast and nimble in comparison.

This plan includes a bicycle path next to the bus lane that is totally inappropriate and dangerous. Bus drivers can’t see bicycles. There is already a bike path on 17th Street so no bike path is needed on 16th Street.

As you are already aware, PDR businesses and small neighborhood retail merchants rely on parking for delivery, clients and customers. Making driving and parking on 16th Street more difficult will drive these businesses out at a time when the city claims it is trying to preserve them.

Please stop this plan and send it back to the drawing board.
Sincerely,
(Your name)
Concerned Citizen